top of page
  • Your Hunter Valley Magazine

Hunter Destinations Vie For Top Tourism Awards

Four Hunter destinations are in the running for honours in the inaugural NSW Top Tourism Town Awards.


Broke-Fordwich and Wollombi are finalists in the ‘Top Tourism Town less than 5000 residents’ category, while Newcastle and Pokolbin are vying for the ‘Top Tourism Town over 5,000 residents’ award.

Top Tourism Towns is a new awards program conducted by the NSW Tourism Industry Council, a collaborative body convened by Business NSW.

The Awards will be decided by popular vote and Business Hunter is urging residents of the region to jump online and support the Hunter finalists.

“It is great to see four Hunter destinations represented among the 42 finalists," Business Hunter CEO Bob Hawes said.

"After what has been the most challenging year in memory for businesses in the visitor economy, this success is a testament to the resilience and innovative spirit of these towns.

“These awards are all about community collaboration -- groups such as local chambers of commerce, tourism associations, councils and visitor information centres have come together to showcase their towns as tourism destinations worthy of celebrating.

“The process was highly competitive, with towns having to provide inspiring editorial, images and video content accompanied by a compelling three-to-four-day visitor itinerary in order to become a Top Tourism Town finalist."

Voting is open until Friday 14 May 2021, with the winners to be announced on Thursday 27 May by Tourism Minister Stuart Ayres at the Local Government NSW Destination and Visitor Economy Conference


Top Tourism Town less than 5000 residents

Barham, The Murray

Berrima, Southern Highlands

Berry, South Coast

Bowraville, North Coast

Carcoar, Country NSW

Culburra Beach, South Coast

Ettalong Beach, Central Coast

Eugowra, Country NSW

Huskisson, South Coast

Jindabyne, Snowy Mountains

Jugiong, Country NSW

Kangaroo Valley, South Coast

Maclean, North Coast

Millthorpe, Country NSW

Milparinka, Outback NSW

Mogo, South Coast

Nana Glen, North Coast

Oberon, Blue Mountains

Pambula, South Coast

Sussex Inlet, South Coast

Toukley, Central Coast

Tumbarumba, The Riverina

Tyalgum, North Coast

Willow Tree, Country NSW

Top Tourism Town greater than 5000 residents

Ballina, North Coast

Bathurst, Country NSW

Dubbo, Country NSW

Forster-Tuncurry, North Coast

Grafton, North Coast

Griffith, The Riverina

Kingscliff, North Coast

Lithgow, Blue Mountains

Moama, The Murray

Mudgee, Country NSW

Orange, Country NSW

Tamworth, Country NSW

Terrigal, Central Coast

Ulladulla, South Coast



bottom of page