Congratulations to Cessnock’s 2021 Australia Day Award recipients

Congratulations to our local Australia Day Award recipients and to our 14 newest Australian citizens. There were lots of smiling faces after the ceremony at the Cessnock Performing Arts Centre this morning.


Cessnock City Mayor, Councillor Bob Pynsent welcomed the newest citizens and said Australia Day is a very memorable day to become an Australian citizen.

A highlight of the day was the announcement of the prestigious Australia Day Award Citizen of the Year. Glenn Byrnes was named Citizen of the Year for his extensive work in the community.

Mayor, Cr Pynsent congratulated Glenn and thanked him for his significant contribution to the Cessnock community and constantly demonstrating community spirit.

“Glenn is an outstanding member of our community. His involvement stretches over three decades, back to when he first joined Cessnock Lions Club where he has held many positions and has been a driving force in the many ventures the Club are involved in.”

“His employment as Inspector District Service Coordinator Community Safety Rural Fire Service Hunter Valley has also been extremely valuable to our community and its safety. His guidance and leadership was vital during the 2019/2020 bushfire emergency. He is also a fantastic Santa! Congratulations Glenn.”

Mayor, Cr Pynsent along with Australia Day Ambassador Bob Turner also congratulated the 12 other special community members who received an Australia Day Award.

“I would like to acknowledge Senior Citizen of the Year, Les and Jane Goldie and Young Citizen of the Year, Bethany Dwyer for their hard work and dedication”, Mayor, Cr Pynsent said.

Australia Day Award recipients include:

Citizen of the Year, Glenn Byrnes

Senior Citizen on the Year, Les and Jane Goldie

Young Citizen on the Year, Bethany Dwyer

Maree Callaghan Award- Young Female Achiever, Isabelle Metcalfe

Community Event of the Year, International Women’s Day Charity Dinner at the Cessnock Leagues Club

Environmental Award, Chris Jackson

Community Award, Katherine Kennedy Community Award, Jennefer Wratten

Community Award, Kadie Sondermeyer

Community Award, Siara Nash

Community Award, Jesse Knight

Community Award, Emerson Worthington